Staying in touch

Staying in touch hasn’t been as simple as I had hoped. I’ve been unable to add to the blog since arriving in Swaziland due to dire internet connections. It takes a VERY LONG TIME even to log on – about three quarters of an hour, and then sending emails can take even longer! I bought a mobile phone but phoning seems to be problematic too, in terms of getting through to the U.K. I haven’t dared to attempt anything more than an email until now…

Everything else is going smoothly.

Swaziland is beautiful. It is summer, the Jacaranda trees are in full bloom, we have already seen zebra and impala. Joshua, my son, started school at Waterford Kamhlaba United World College of Southern Africa, which he is enjoying immensely. I am also teaching students here. The students are from all over the world and very bright, the standard of education is exceptionally high.

There was an enormous show of lightning before we arrived and a truly dreadful storm with hail stones bigger than marbles and sheet and fork lightning. I attempted to add to the blog but the network went down and there was no electricity (we had to use candles for light).

Anyway, it’s a clear morning, and peaceful.

This week I began visiting various agencies for people affected by HIV and AIDS (26% of Swaziland’s population is HIV positive) to set up my study in rural areas and to start arranging field visits for research for my novel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

